GiGi Jumpsuit – Miss Candyfloss Official

I don’t know about you, but whenever I hear the word ‘jumpsuit,’ my mind immediately thinks of cute little terry towelling swathed babies and Charlie’s Angels. There’s literally no other option for me. You’re either an infant with no say in your fashion choices or a 70’s sex icon with ENORMOUS hair and a bangin’ body to show off – otherwise, what’s the point in having your pants permanently attached to your top? It’s totally ludicrous.

Or is it?

What if I told you that there was a jumpsuit out there that not only perfectly captured all the elegance of the working woman in the 40’s, but also gave out solid retro vibes a la Farrah Fawcett, depending on how you styled it? I mean, it’s too good to be true, right? Could I really dream of being as comfortable as a newborn while simultaneously looking as though I belong on a movie poster next to Bosley? And even if it were true… surely only a certain body type would look good in it? I mean, c’mon… I have no boobs, a thick waist and a long torso, no jumpsuit in existence is ever going to make me look go…

Oh. Okay. So, uh, hold the phone Charlie, looks like we have a crime on our hands – and I’M the perpetrator! I’ll confess before we even leave the speaker phone to save us all the time; jumpsuits are incredible, and in particular, this Miss Candyfloss Official version is the most underrated piece of vintage clothing on the market right now.

PSX_20180308_182535.jpg

Sure, I can understand the apprehension towards them, and on the rack they don’t look particularly appealing. I’ll admit that even as I pulled my first acquisition out of it’s packaging, my heart dropped and I regretted taking the risk in purchasing it – but then I tried it on, and right before my eyes, something magical happened.

First of all, I had boobs. Out of nowhere, these two nicely defined shapes appeared on my chest and I was flabbergasted. Secondly, the pants were TOO LONG for my giraffe legs. I could wear heels with them and still have them elegantly graze the ground. Unheard of. Thirdly, the sleeves were not an issue because of the tulip design used, and finally, the belt fit my waist. It wasn’t too short, and it wasn’t too long. I didn’t have a stubby, sticky outy bit, and I didn’t have an annoying length flapping about. This suit was perfection. And if you want to see it on another body type, click here, here, here, here or here!

PSX_20180305_222334.jpg

But wait – there’s more. The fit was spot on according to the Miss Candyfloss size chart, so I didn’t felt apprehensive about ordering their clothes again (because this was the start of a brand addiction to be honest). The price is completely reasonable (approximately $200AUD depending on the stockist) when you consider all of the details involved in the creation – pleats, gathers, more pleats, pockets, buttons, snaps, invisible zip, belt, tulip sleeves… compared to a lot of the unlined, simple swing dresses currently selling for the same price, that’s pretty good bang for your buck I think! Honestly, as a seamstress myself, I don’t know how they justify the price once you factor in labour, but I’m certainly not complaining…

Finally, although you can buy the GiGi Jumpsuit directly from Miss Candyfloss Official, as well as through Modcloth, Unique Vintage and a myriad of other overseas stockists, we actually have one official queen right here in Australia who stocks the brand too; Ms Katt’s Kustom House has supplied me with all of my colourways, and even orders them in for you as a custom request should she be out of stock. Katt also provides a range of payment options and above all, personal sizing advice and exceptional customer service. So if you’re ordering one in Australia, I’d highly recommend contacting her first!

PSX_20180305_222611.jpg

PSX_20180306_154701.jpg

After all of that, I hope you can see why I now picture myself standing beside my fellow Angels – I’m not saying I’m in the same league as Lucy Liu and Jaclyn Smith, but this jumpsuit definitely deserves that level of recognition.

So anyway Charlie, I’m ready for my call – just dial 1800 ONE SIE and get ready to have your mind completely blown by your newest recruit. Hi-ya!

PSX_20180305_223205.jpg

 

PSX_20180306_153633.jpg

 

PSX_20180306_152632.jpg

Jumpsuit//Miss Candyfloss Official via Ms Katt’s Kustom House

Sew Pinup xxx

2 thoughts on “GiGi Jumpsuit – Miss Candyfloss Official

  1. Hi there! I just stumbled across your review of this jumpsuit. I sell vintage & vintage-inspired clothing on Etsy, Ebay & Poshmark and am selling this same jumpsuit. I wanted to see if I could use your photo in the green / plaid version. You look SOOO CUTE in it! I would be happy to give you photo credit & refer my shoppers to your blog / or any other social media you like. LMK what you think. XOXO, Shelly (ShellybeanEight on Posh & Etsy, Shellybean8 on Ebay)

    Like

    1. Hello! Thank you so much for asking! Yes, of course you can use the photos, I’m very touched that you like them so much! My Instagram is the.sewcialseamstress if you wanted to credit me that way? x

      Like

Leave a comment